Taren Point Ferry
For many years the only means for vehicular traffic to travel from the St George district to the Sutherland area, across the Georges River, was by means of a ferry at Tom Uglys Point. As traffic built up over the years this became very congested, and pressure mounted for a second ferry to connect Sans Souci with Taren Point. This culminated in the opening of the Taren Point Ferry in 1916.
The last run by the Taren Point Ferry was made at 1.40pm on Saturday May 29, 1965 just prior to the official opening of the Captain Cook Bridge. This short video gives a fascinating insight into the events on this day.